Atlanta DUI Lawyer

The stakes are higher for commercial drivers, because their job is on the line.  Trucking companies can fire you if you are convicted of a DUI or your insurance rates might skyrocket.  Do not let a DUI conviction stop you from earning a living.  An arrest does not mean you are guilty of it. 

Law Office of Shania King, LLC can guide you through the process at every stage and give you solid guidance so that you can make the best possible decision.  Call today at (678) 793-7975 so that we can discuss your case and begin preparing your defense.

Commercial Driver's License DUI

 While it is true the legal limit in Georgia for drivers over 21 is a BAC of 0.08%, the legal limit for commercial drivers is lower.  If you are a CDL holder, the legal limit is a BAC of 0.04%.  It doesn't matter if you were driving a commercial vehicle at the time of the arrest or not.  If you are arrested for a DUI, your CDL and your regular license could be suspended for one year (for a first DUI).  If this is your second DUI, your license can be suspended for life.

There are different ways of committing DUI. You can be convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol (per se), driving under the influence of alcohol (less safe), driving under the influence of inhalants, driving under the influence of drugs, and driving under the influence of combined substances.

The look back period for repeat DUI offenses is ten years

In Georgia, the look back period for repeat DUI offenses is ten years. Prior to 2008, the look back period was five years.  So if the subsequent DUI offense occurs outside the ten year look back period, it will be treated as the first DUI offense.

CDL First Georgia DUI Penalties

The fines and penalties apply to a first offense in 10 years:

  • $300-$1,000 fine plus any statutory charges
  • 10 days to 12 months in jail (the judge may suspend all but 24 hours)
  • Suspended license for up to one year
  • $210 fee for license reinstatement
  • DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction program and all associated costs
  • Minimum of 40 hours of community service
  • Possible imprisonment of up to one year
  • No limited driving permit allowed

CDL Second Georgia DUI Penalties

The fines and penalties apply to a second offense in 10 years:

  • $600-$1,000 fine plus any statutory charges
  • 12 months active probation
  • 90 days to 12 months in jail (the judge may suspend all but 72 hours)
  • 12 months "hard suspension" (total loss of driving privileges for the first 12 months)
  • 18 months mandatory suspension before eligible for probationary license.  If it is a second conviction within five years, you can expect a three-year license suspension.  Eligible for reinstatement at the end of the 18 month period (regular driver's license).
  • License reinstatement fee. Reinstatement is possible after 18 months if you have completed DUI school, the clinical evaluation, and the treatment program.  As a condition of your license reinstatement, you must have an interlock ignition device installed in your vehicle for six months (regular driver's license).
  • DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction program and all associated costs
  • Minimum of 240 hours of community service
  • Photograph in the newspaper with a $25 notice fee
  • Possible imprisonment for up to 1 year
  • Possible CDL lifetime suspension
  • No limited driving permit allowed
  • Surrender license plates

CDL Third Georga DUI Penalties

The fines and penalties apply to a third offense in 10 years:

  • $1,000-$5,000 fine plus any statutory charges
  • 12 months active probation
  • 120 days to 12 months in jail (the judge may suspend all but 15 days)
  • 12 months "hard suspension" (total loss of driving privileges for the first 12 months)
  • 18 months mandatory suspension before eligible for probationary license.  If it is a third conviction within five years, you can expect a five-year license suspension.  Deemed a habitual violator.  Eligible for reinstatement at the end of the 5 year period (regular driver's license).
  • License reinstatement fee. Reinstatement is possible after 18 months if you have completed DUI school, the clinical evaluation, and the treatment program.  As a condition of your license reinstatement, you must have an interlock ignition device installed in your vehicle for six months (regular driver's license).
  • DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction program and all associated costs
  • Minimum of 240 hours of community service
  • Photograph in the newspaper with a $25 notice fee
  • Possible imprisonment for up to 1 year
  • Possible CDL lifetime suspension
  • No limited driving permit allowed
  • Surrender license plates