Georgia License Suspension

If your license is suspended, it can make getting to work and school much harder.  Depending on the offense, you may not be eligible for a limited permit so that you can drive to work and school.  That's why it's important you hire an experienced Georgia traffic attorney so that you can increase your chances of getting a better plea deal and avoiding a license suspension.

Georgia license suspensions can occur, because of something as simple as speeding or as serious as vehicular homicide. Below is a list for common Georgia license suspensions:

  • DUI:120 days(first conviction within 5 years); 18 months (second conviction within 5 years); 5 years (third conviction within 5 years)
  • DUI Refusal: 1 year
  • Drug Crimes: 80 days (first conviction within 5 years); 1 year (second conviction within 5 years); 5 years (third conviction within 5 years). Please note: The license suspension applies to all drug convictions that occurred prior to July 1, 2015 OR only drug convictions involving a vehicle used in the commission of a felony on or after July 1, 2015)
  • Vehicular Homicide Second Degree: 3 years
  • Serious Injury by Vehicle: 3 years
  • Leaving Scene of Accident: 120 days
  • Hit and Run: 120 days
  • Fleeing/Attempting to Elude: 120 days
  • Driving on a Suspended License: 6 months
  • No insurance: 60 days
  • Fraudulent Use of License/Fraudulent Application: 120 days
  • Operating Vehicle with Suspended or Revoked Registration: 120 days
  • Any felony in the commission of which a vehicle is used: 120 days
  • Racing on Highways or Streets: 120 days
  • Under 21 years old (6 month license suspension for the below offenses):
    • Hit and Run
    • Racing
    • Fleeing/Attempting to Elude
    • Any traffic offense that is 4 or more points
    • Purchasing alcohol
    • DUI
    • Aggressive Driving
    • Fake ID
    • Passing a school bus
    • Speeding 24 mph or more