Georgia Marijuana Laws
Currently, Georgia marijuana possession is illegal unless you have a medical excuse. If you are charged with possession of marijuana less than an ounce, it's a misdemeanor, which carries up to a $1,000 fine and/or 12 months in jail. If you are charged with more than an ounce of marijuana, then it's a felony, which carries a jail time of 1 to 10 years and the fines vary.
Only drugs convictions that occurred prior to July 1, 2015 will cause a Georgia license suspension. The license suspension will last 6 months and it runs consecutively. As of July 1, 2015, a person will not lose their license if they are charged with possession of marijuana and a vehicle was not involved in the commission of a felony. However, a DUI Drugs conviction will suspend your license.
On April 16, 2015, Governor Nathan Deal signed a bill that makes it legal for people who suffer from cancer, sickle cell disease and other illnesses to possess up to 20 ounces of cannabis oil if they get a doctor prescription. But it's still illegal to grow marijuana in Georgia so patients will have to travel to Colorado and other states to get the cannabis oil. This creates a tricky issue, because not all states have legalized marijuana so transporting it back to Georgia may get patients in trouble with the law.
Hire an experienced Atlanta drug lawyer who will aggressively fight on your behalf. Call today at (678) 793-7975 so that we can begin discussing your case and preparing your defense.